Chesapeake Music brings renowned musicians to delight, engage and surprise today's audiences, and educate, inspire and develop tomorrow's.



J. Lawrie Bloom & Marcy Rosen "The judges' feedback helped to propel us as a group and set even higher goals for ourselves." - Melissa White, violin, Harlem Quartet

J. Lawrie Bloom & Marcy Rosen
“The judges’ feedback helped to propel us as a group and set even higher goals for ourselves.”
– Melissa White, violin, Harlem Quartet

Ieva Jokubaviciute

Ieva Jokubaviciute, Finalist Judge

Michael Kannen

Michael Kannen, Finalist Judge


  • Steve Balderston
  • J. Lawrie Bloom
  • Natasha Brofsky
  • Catherine Cho
  • Glenn Dicterow
  • Karen Dreyfus
  • Miriam Fried
  • Ara Gregorian
  • Michael Kannen
  • Maria Lambros
  • Michael Maccaferri
  • Katherine Murdoch
  • Tara Helen O’Connor
  • Peggy Pearson
  • Danny Phillips
  • Todd Phillips
  • Marcy Rosen
  • David Shifrin
  • Scott St. John
  • Roger Tapping
  • Diane Walsh
  • Robert Yekovitch


Head Judges

J. Lawrie Bloom and Marcy Rosen recruit and supervise a noteworthy selection of music educators and performers. This year Marcy will direct the preliminary process and Lawrie will manage the judging at the live competition. Having served since the Competition’s inception 18 years ago, they have provided leadership for these distinguished individuals in assuring fair and honest performance assessments. 

Preliminary Judges

Working with the head preliminary judge, a panel reviews and rates the recorded submissions anonymously. The head judge works with judges to review the highest rated submissions to select the finalists. A minimum of three judges rates each submission and then a smaller group reviews the judges’ ratings and selects the five finalists.

This year’s preliminary panel includes: 

Catherine Cho, Violin
Adrian Morejon, Bassoon
Tara Helen O’Connor, Flute
Todd Phillips, Violin
Marcy Rosen, Cello
Diane Walsh, Piano

Finalist Judges

Two additional judges join head finalist judge J. Lawrie Bloom for the live competition in April, 2020. This year’s finalist judges will be Ieva Jokubaviciute and Michael Kannen.